If you are a woman you must have an idea what it is like being Pregnant! The symptoms, feelings, emotions and the experiences a woman live through those 9 months are countless. Sometimes you love them and sometimes ( could be most of times) you don’t. Sometimes you are calm and sometimes you are irritated to the core.

Now coming to my story, I guessed that I could be pregnant the day I hiked the “Angels Landing” in Zion National Park in Utah USA. I was more tired than expected and was constipated that morning as well. It came to my mind for a few times during the hike and I was ruling it out by thinking the hike is really strenuous and I could be constipated just like that. But, my guess was right. And two days later I found out those obvious two lines on the mini screen of the home test. And then begin my journey!

I had little on and off symptoms but nothing challenging. I had Type 2 Diabetes and was on medication so my biggest hurdle was to keep my weight under control and not stress out on my high sugar levels.

So I made a routine of things I should do apart from regularly seeing my OB-GYN and knowing my baby’s well-being inside my womb.

  • Plan to take short trips to nature and friends – I sat down with my husband and planned the weekend or long weekend trips up to 7 months. We have hiked and travelled several places through out my pregnancy which kept my spirits up always.
A quiet moment in Taft Point in Yosemite
A pic in the Hoh rain forest in Olympic wilderness, Washington US
A pic with my best friend during a trip to San Francisco, US
  • Walk – I told myself that I will take a walk outside or gym no matter what. Or at least 3 to 4 days a week after work. And by religiously following it I was able to control my blood sugar levels.
A moment captured after a short hike
  • Practice Yoga and meditation – I did Anulom-Vilom for at least 10 minutes every evening followed by a 5 7 min dhyana or meditation. The breathing exercise Anulom-Vilom is really helpful in fighting depression, anxiety and stress and you really have to do it right to feel its awesomeness.
  • Dance to my favorite songs – It may sound silly but it’s really a stress buster. I would play some of my favorite songs and dance like no one watching. Either you dance with your partner on a romantic song or do some random moves, you will surely feel good after.
  • Watch sunsets – Have you ever wondered how beautiful and colorful a sunset could be if we are not too busy to notice it. Well, for me it calms me down.
A beautiful sunset at White Point Beach
A beautiful sunset at Hesse Park
  • Eat well and healthy – Easier said than done. This was the most challenging thing to follow as per my experience but I managed to watch my diet and replace some bad food habits with good food habits such as baked fish instead of fry fish, fruits instead of cookies / biscuits, healthy trail Mix as snacks instead of potato chips.

Having said that I religiously followed them. Yes there were some exceptions and some really low moments but at the end I survived the 9 months like a boss!!

Few photos from my maternity shoot during my third trimester!

Us
A picture with the Ocean in background

So ladies, if you are pregnant and feeling low you could give above points a try and I am sure you will feel fantastic.

One thought on “Top 6 ways to keep you sane during Pregnancy

  1. Awesome yaar. I guess this blog will help many. Now I am really a big fan of yours. Everything in this blog is perfect. I felt like reading a perfect blogger.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment